What are A1 & A2 Milk Proteins?Milk is composed of proteins, sugars and fats. The cream is where the fats are stored. The proteins are found in the whey and the milk solids. Sugars are also found in the milk solids. When we talk about "A1" or "A2" milks or proteins, we are talking about certain proteins found in the milk solids. About a third of the proteins found in the milk solids are beta- casein proteins. The most predominant types of beta- casein proteins are either type A1 or A2, but we’ll talk more about the specifics of A1 & A2 milk a bit later.
AllergiesMany people have allergies or intolerances to caseins, which can be found in most products containing milk proteins. People who want to avoid beta-casein proteins should only use milk products that have the milk solids removed, such as a butter oil or whey. These milks could still contain trace amounts of milk solids and thus contain casein, but generally they are safe unless you have a very serious allergy to casein proteins. Most commercial milks that are sold contain both A1 and A2 beta caseins. Let’s begin with a little history about dairy cows to understand how this came about.
The History & Research
Ghee: the Healthy AlternativeSo, how does A1/A2 issue impact ghee? Ghee, a type of butter milk, is the fat part of the milk. Since the milk solids and liquid whey portions are removed during the process of making ghee, there is only a slight potential to have trace amounts of A1 and A2 proteins remaining in ghee. Unless a person has a life threatening allergy to dairy products, there is little to no chance that there would be any negative health consequences from using ghee. If a person did have such an extreme allergy to dairy, they would need to consult their allergy specialist before using ghee.
About the author: At Pure Indian Foods, we have been providing healthy Indian food ingredients including organic ghee, Indian spices, and ayurvedic ingredients to health conscious cooks and food lovers for over 124 years. Our cultured ghee is suitable for those with extreme allergies to dairy as it is lab test confirmed not to contain any detectable traces of protein. Our products can be purchased at www.pureindianfoods.com.